Comparison

WatchDog vs Pingdom
the cleaner alternative.

Looking for a Pingdom alternative? WatchDog gives you 1-minute checks, Slack and webhook alerts out of the box, signed-HMAC webhook payloads, and public status pages — from $19/month flat.

Zero setup. First alert in 60 seconds.
Feature comparison

WatchDog vs Pingdom —
feature and pricing breakdown.

Feature WatchDog Pingdom
Check interval (minimum) 1 minute (Pro) 1 minute (publicly listed)
Monitors / capacity 1 on Free; unlimited on Pro 10 uptime checks + 1 advanced check in entry configuration; 50 uptime checks + 10 advanced checks in next published configuration
Alert channels Email, Slack, webhooks, SMS, browser push Email, SMS, push notifications, webhooks, and integrations such as Slack, PagerDuty, and Opsgenie
Public status pages Up to 3 on Free; unlimited on Pro Available; public pricing does not state plan limits
Webhooks (outgoing) Signed HMAC payloads, per-monitor routing Available for alerts; public pricing does not state plan limits or signing
Pricing — free access $0 forever Free trial; no free-forever plan listed
Pricing — entry configuration $19/month (Pro, unlimited monitors) $18/month monthly ($16.50/month billed annually): 10 uptime checks + 1 advanced check + 50 SMS alerts
Pricing — 50-check configuration $19/month flat $78/month monthly ($71.50/month billed annually): 50 uptime checks + 10 advanced checks + 200 SMS alerts
Pricing — enterprise $19/month flat Enterprise / contact sales

Last verified: 2026-08-26. Pingdom pricing reflects the publicly listed trial, check configurations, and enterprise contact option.

Questions teams switching from Pingdom ask before signing up.

How does WatchDog per-check pricing compare with Pingdom?

WatchDog Pro is $19/month with unlimited monitors. Pingdom’s published configurations list $18/month monthly ($16.50/month billed annually) for 10 uptime checks plus 1 advanced check, and $78/month monthly ($71.50/month billed annually) for 50 uptime checks plus 10 advanced checks. WatchDog keeps the same flat Pro price as your check count grows.

Does Pingdom offer multi-region uptime check locations?

Multi-region coverage is an important distinction to verify when you need to separate a regional outage from a global one. WatchDog currently does not offer multi-region checks. Pingdom’s public pricing materials do not specify a location count, so confirm that the locations you need are available on the Pingdom plan you choose.

Which incident alerting channels do WatchDog and Pingdom support?

WatchDog supports email, Slack, webhooks, SMS, and browser push. Pingdom lists email, SMS, push notifications, webhooks, and integrations such as Slack, PagerDuty, and Opsgenie. Choose based on whether WatchDog’s flat pricing and per-monitor routing or Pingdom’s broader published integration list better matches your incident workflow.

Can I host a status page on a custom domain with WatchDog or Pingdom?

WatchDog offers public status pages, with up to three on Free and unlimited on Pro. Pingdom also lists public status pages, but its public pricing materials do not state plan limits or custom-domain availability. If a custom domain is required, verify that capability for the Pingdom plan you are considering.

How do WatchDog and Pingdom webhook contracts differ?

WatchDog signs outgoing webhook payloads with HMAC and supports per-monitor routing. Pingdom publicly lists webhook alerting, but its public pricing materials do not document plan limits or signing. Treat the integrations as separate contracts and verify the Pingdom payload and authentication details before switching an existing receiver.

Switching from Pingdom?
WatchDog's Pro plan is $19/month.

Bring your URLs over, get alerts in 60 seconds, cancel any time.

See pricing

No credit card on Free. Pro is cancel-anytime.